Western Sahara

A disputed territory situated on the northwest coast of Africa that is claimed by Morocco and the Saharawi people, who are seeking self-determination. Former Spanish colony until 1975, when the territory was administered by Morocco. Western Sahara has been on the United Nations list of non-self-governing territories since 1963.

« Back to Glossary Index