Arctic Council

The Arctic Council is an international organisation that seeks to foster cooperation among Arctic countries, especially on environmental issues and sustainable development of the region. Established by what is informally known as the Ottawa Declaration in 1996, the Arctic Council has eight member states, including Denmark, Canada, Norway, the United States, Russia, Sweden, Finland and Iceland. China is one of the observer countries to the Arctic Council

« Back to Glossary Index